Autumn at Anthropologie

Anthropologie Fall Must-Haves

Did you know the first official day of autumn this year falls on September 23?  That means it’s time to refresh and update our fall wardrobes. This fall I’m hunting for cozy and versatile pieces to help me get more use out of what’s already housed in my closet. I’m also looking for pieces I can spin into outfits for office work-wear, casual Fridays, special events, and weekend brunches. Thankfully Anthropologie is a one-stop shop for this kind of wardrobe. If you’ve ever looked at a piece and wondered, “This is cute but how can I wear it?” or, “How will it fit into my current wardrobe?” then these tips might help you be a more decisive and strategic shopper.

scallopped cocoon cardigan

Scalloped Cocoon Cardigan

Since high school I’ve nurtured a mild obsession with cardigans. Whether it’s to cozy up during fall or winter, or to add some conservatism to a dress, a cardigan is always my secret “outfit weapon.” I prefer cardigans in neutral tones (white, tan, black, or gray) for their versatility so I can get more wear out of the piece. That’s why this Scalloped Cocoon Cardigan is a stand-out winner in my book. The cocoon style allows you to cross it over in the front for warmth without the sometimes awkward pulls of a button closure. However, as a petite woman, I’ve noticed that longer cardigans can tend to pull on my bottom and create an unwanted bubble effect on my backside. That’s why I’m digging the split back of this scalloped cardigan. It’s perfect for a t-shirt and jeans outfit on the weekend, but is ready to warm up your sleeveless shift dress during the workweek. Of note: because of this sweater features an acrylic-wool blend and a cocoon shape it’s important to store this heavier sweater folded on a shelf or in a drawer since hangers could create unsightly pulls at the shoulders.

jacquard circle cardigan

Jacquard Circle Cardigan

While the Jacquard Circle Cardigan is certainly not as neutral as the Scalloped Cocoon Cardigan, it’s surely as useful! Pattern play with this cozy sweater to liven up your monochrome shift dresses or black pencil skirts.

cappelle dress

 Cappelle Dress

I’m a big fan of waking up and throwing on an easy yet chic outfit to save time in the morning. Thus I make sure to have a handful of “power pieces” in my closet that allow me to throw together an outfit in minutes that leaves me looking polished and ready to conquer the day. This Capelle Dress is a perfect example of a “power piece.” The bold print composed of colorful yet demure hues requires minimal accessorizing to complete the look. The Capelle is also a power piece due to its versatility, which allows it to easily transition between seasons.  In the summer the dress can stand alone, while in the early fall a simple, neutral cardigan ties it together. And finally, as the air crisps in the deep fall as winter approaches, the Cappelle dress transforms with tights, riding boots, and a clean-cut blazer or cardigan. Furthermore, coming from Anthropologie’s exclusive “Maeve” brand, the Cappelle dress comes in a breathable and forgiving tencel-spandex blend in a flattering fit and flare style.

splitneck ikat tee

Splitneck Ikat Tee

If you’ve every paid a dry cleaning bill you’ll probably understand why I value a machine washable knit so much, especially one in as vivacious a print as this Ikat top. The black and white contrasting patterns check off the pattern-mixing trend in one swoop and make outfit pairing simple. Tuck it into a bold, jewel-toned pencil skirt or a pair of slouchy dress pants and you’re ready to go!

slubstripe pullover

Slubstripe Pullover

I’m lusting after this Slubstripe Pullover to wear when I want to dress up my weekend leggings and cozy up without “bulking up.” I especially love the sheer detailing with the tunic’s hemline and the breathable v-neckline.

west street shirtdress

West Street Shirtdress

The West Street Shirtdress accompanies the Capelle Dress in the category of “power pieces,” but still falls into the “neutral” category. I love that the dress strikes a balance between sleeveless and shoulder-covering with a new play on the cap sleeve style. Moreover, the dotted pattern softens the structure of the shirt dress. I’m picturing this dress with the Scalloped Cocoon Cardigan, opaque tights, and brown leather riding boots for this fall.

lace opacity tee

Lace Opacity Tee

A white or off-white tops is arguably your most versatile and useful style weapon. Essentially you can style a white top with any bottom piece in your closet, thus it’s best to invest in a versatile yet eye-catching white blouse this fall. Lace, laser cut-outs, textures, and the like can jazz up a plain, white top, making it easier to dress-up or dress-down the piece. This Lace Opacity Tee takes the simple silhouette of a crew-neck t-shirt and personalizes it with laser cut designs and lace elements. The sheer yet conservative style makes it appropriate for your business wardrobe yet casual enough to perfectly complement your classic dark wash skinny jeans.

pilcro stet slim ankle jeans 118

Pilcro Stet Slim Ankle Jeans

Speaking of denim, this fall I’m in love with Pilcro’s denim, specifically in the “Stet” cut. Pilcro and the Letterpress is a brand exclusive to Anthropologie and offers quality denim jeans at a lower price point than your mainstream designers.  This particular style comes in Petite, Regular, and Tall lengths to accommodate every lady. This medium dark wash offers a hint of bleach accents while still upholding the chic professionalism of your quintessential dark wash skinny jean.
ag stevie slim straight jeans 168

AG Stevie Slim Straight Jeans

While you can buy AG jeans anywhere you can only but the Stevie style at Anthropologie. Stevies come in array of fabrics and inseams (sateen, corduroy, ankle, cropped, etc.) and once again this particular Stevie comes in both Regular and Petite and offers a richer dark wash than the Pilcros. My constant fear with skinny jeans is that when I pull the tight pants up and on I might rip the inseam. However, I always feel confident when putting on my AG jeans thanks to the quality of the denim.

Aiza Tote

Aiza Tote

Tote bags are useful for everyday life, but sometimes I hate breaking gout my expensive leather tote bag when running errands. This Aiza Tote falls under the $100 price point and embraces what’s best about fall – cozy fabric in vibrant prints.

Clarus Tote

Clarus Tote

A classic-cute leather tote bag is perfect for any season, and this Clarus Tote is certainly a contender. If it feels too plain for your style try dressing it up by tying a square scarf around one of the handles to add some pizzazz.

Leave a Reply

