Weekly Rewind

Weekly Rewind: September 19, 2014

For all the time I spend perusing the internet throughout the week – during my lunch break, on my commute, while lounging on the couch, etc. – I decided a “weekly rewind” of sorts would be beneficial in keeping track of what tickles my fancy.  The following articles, videos, or updates either struck me as funny, inspiring, or provocative and I’m hoping this feature helps me bookmark what I’ve found useful during my countless hours of internet wandering.

savemoney-opener

Photo credit: Refinery 29

5 Painless Ways to Save Your Paycheck

I’m lucky that my bank has an online program to help me monitor my spending and set goals for certain types of purchases.  Ideally I’d like to limit my spending to $600 a month.  This total includes work-related costs (Metro fares) as well as utilities (internet and electricity).  Monitoring my spending helps me refrain from impulse buys and peer-pressured dining.  Most of the time I go out to eat at a restaurant because my friends are when I’d be just fine with a home cooked meal in my own apartment (made with food on which I have already spent money). However, this doesn’t mean I have to refrain completely from monetized socializing.  Instead I set a budget for dining and entertainment within this $600 so I can go to a concert or an adventurous dinner. I might not always stay within my month budget goals, but because I remain diligent the variance is thankfully low.

mwc

Photo credit: Nylon via Paramount Pictures

Men, Women & Children Trailer

Usually movie trailers give the entire plot away in two minutes, but this MWC trailer is so mysteriously poignant I honestly have no idea what’s going on. Last month I came across the teaser trailer which featured text bubbles instead of dialogue, as the film’s marketed as a commentary on the internet generation. This is a great example of quality, enticing film trailer composition. I get the gist of the film and yet I’m so confused by the intertwined story lines. On October 1 I’ll surely be searching out this film in theaters.

ap cozy

Photo credit: Apartment Therapy

Joey’s “Cozy Modern Vintage” Room

I love the vivacious coziness of this room. Personally, I’d rather see this decor on a larger room. However, I appreciate the welcoming color palette and assorted decorations, which range from mini-potted plants to framed inspirational posters. I also adore the gallery and map walls.  This room is bursting with inspiration and oozes creativity.

rory

Photo credit: BuzzFeed via Warner Bros. Television / via toilntrouble.tumblr.com

24 Life Lessons Re-watching “Gilmore Girls” Can Teach You

All so very true.This show carried me through my early adolescence and it’s reruns through my high school and college years. I’m thinking a regular, weekly screening beginning this weekend will be necessary since the whole series is now on Netflix.

cookie

Photo credit: Brave Kate

These Are the Best 25 Food Trucks in Washington

Every day at lunchtime at least ten food trucks line up across the street from my office. Since I’m quite indecisive when it comes to ordering food of any kind (giant menus on walls are my nightmare) I like to check up on a restaurant before I go, and in this case a food truck. I’ve only ventured to Feelin’ Crabby and Captain Cookie thus far (both fantastic with friendly workers). However, after reading this roundup I think I have more eating to attend to! (Note: I use FoodTruckFiesta.Com to locate nearby, yummy food trucks)

inc

Photo credit: Inc.

When it comes to Marketing Your Company, Show, Don’t Tell

An interesting perspective on effective marketing. The title brought me in because “show, don’t tell” is the most useful critique I got on my creative essays in college.

Leave a Reply

